A Million Little Pieces

Some books can really hold you, captivate you, just keep you enthralled. And every time I read a book that takes me away from where I am, I feel some sort of sadness when it comes to an end. It triggers a feeling of losing something. Such books just stay with you for more than the content but also because of the many ways in which they weave a web of familiarity around them. Through their characters and their lives and their experiences.

Stay.

Revolve.

Stay.

Evoke happiness.

Stay.

Evoke horror.

Stay.

Cringe.

Stay.

Feel.

Stay.Stay.Stay.

I am left with only three pages before I could finish A Million Little Pieces and for some strange reason, I am in love with this character James Frey who is also the author. The book is a true story about a 23 yr old guy who is an addict and into severe substance abuse. The story is about his life at the rehab, his struggle, his confrontation with the self, self-destruction, the mistakes, remorse, his desperate need to belong, to be loved, to be free. I loved the brutality, honesty, vulnerability in the language. Hard-hitting, shredding, up in your face depiction.  Its painful and depressing yet so fulfilling and optimistic.

I am yet to finish the book. Don’t know how it concludes but hope its a happy end. Want him to be happy finally. After losing over and over . Want to see him happy. I like happy endings :)

A sentiment from the book talks about holding on. Holding on in difficult times. When one feels that there is no way out, its important to hold on. Hold on. And not give up.

Hold on.

***

So now that I have read the book and know the end, perhaps it was the right way to close. But it did leave me with a bittersweet feeling. If you have read the book you know it and if you haven’t, then I don’t want to ruin it for you. It will otherwise douse the intensity of the whole book.  Its worth one read for sure.

***

Yesterday when I went to Crossword I came across the book and thought would buy it (had borrowed it from a colleague to read). But when I went through the author James Frey’s note in the reprint I changed my mind. I felt cheated in some sort of way. There had been a controversy over the authenticity of certain facts in the book which James did agree to have been exaggerated. Wasn’t happy to know that. It was disappointing. I can’t discount the entire book but its just that it leaves you disappointed. Yeah, plain disappointed. However, will still recommend it for one read.

Leave a Reply

