And it comes… and it goes

Doesn’t feel like its already a week. Time to go back. The past one week was by far the best 7 days of living in mumbai. Never ever did i miss the city so much like i did this time. Ofcourse my love for the city aint a new thing but this time it was different.

From the time i step foot outside my apartment on 19th March till the time i entered it again on 15th May…a lot has happened and changed. Yet there was no sign of trouble fitting into the surroundings. Felt the same when I opened the refrigerator to get my bottle of chilled water from my favourite white and green bottle, felt the same holding the remote sitting in my favourite sofa seat, felt the same when i cuddled up into my favourite blue and beige quilt, felt the same when i opened my wardrobe to see my formal clothes, felt the same when i looked outside my bedroom window at the playing kids in the complex, the familiar feel of banging the lift door in a certain way or it wont close, ohh felt the same when i opened the shoe stand to see my pairs of heels, the beige, white and black flats, the skimmers, the converses. Totally felt the same when saw my vodka bottle at the same level i left it last, the book shelf and the stacked books. Oh it was all the way it was.

Going back to work was no different either. The familar ride on that 34 km long stretch. The same shops, intersections, traffic signals (yeah traffic signals can be an important part of a mumbaiites life) and the traffic, how can i miss that. The walk into the office gate, past the security, into the reception, I walked in just as i used to like everyday. Greeted I at the reception, took a look at the scroll and the advert running on it, opened the glass door to the hallway just as i used to everyday, walked through the hallway onto my desk with the same pace and comfort. My desk..the same stick on notes, the same Santa (yeah i have a Santa on my desk), the huge files, the flat screen LCD, MY swivel chair, adjusted at the SAME level, all my colleagues…oh could there be a better welcome . Such a warm reception.

I miss all of this so much. I need all the strength to get past another 3 months of away time. Going thorugh the physical pain of the treatment isnt so much of a challenge as is the ache to go through all of it away from these little, mundane yet indispensible moments.

2 thoughts on “And it comes… and it goes

  1. You’ll make it through girl! You have so much to look forward to. :)
    It’ll pass by in a flash. Best!

  2. Hey Rakhi

    Thanks
    Finger crossed! Want it all to pass soon..without me realising it. :)

Leave a Reply

